Homeless Compleynt

Pardon me buddy, I didn’t mean to bug you
               but I came from Vietnam
where I killed a lot of Vietnamese gentlemen
                                  a few ladies too
and I couldn’t stand the pain
                         and got a habit out of fear
& I’ve gone through rehab and I’m clean
               but I got no place to sleep
                                 and I don’t know what to do
                                         with myself right now

I’m sorry buddy, I didn’t mean to bug you
               but it’s cold in the alley
                                 & my heart’s sick alone
               and I’m clean, but my life’s a mess
                         Third Avenue
                              and E. Houston Street
               on the corner traffic island under a red light
               wiping your windshield with a dirty rag

                                                                                            December 24, 1996

Allen Ginsberg, Death & Fame. Last Poems

Rispondi

